h1

Day 2: Pretoria

February 1, 2012

My second day in Pretoria!

Last night (due to jetlag) I conked out (literally) at around 9pm. That’s 6am Melbourne time, so not too bad. I woke up this morning at 7:40am, so I think I’m slowly getting over the jetlag. Yay!

Anyway, so after a delicious omelette for breakfast, Jasmine and I headed down to the mall, where Jasmine had a job interview. To get to the mall, we had to take a taxi, which was literally a van driven by a random person, filled with other people going in the same direction. So it was more like a privately-owned minibus with no specific route. One of the best things about it is the cost – a flat rate of 10R (about $1.20), so no matter where you’re going, it’s cheap. Which is always a nice bonus. =D

So anyway, at the mall, Jasmine had to wait an hour for her job interview because another girl thought her interview was at Jasmine’s time, instead of an hour later like it actually was, so that was rather inconvenient. Jasmine had her interview, it went for a little while, and apparently she talked about me enough that they decided to give me a job interview as well! So I had my job interview, and I filled out some paperwork, and we’ll see how it goes – I wouldn’t mind working if Jasmine was also working. The only bad thing about the work? The pay is really low. To put it in perspective, if I worked at a certain pool on a Sunday, I would get paid almost $45 an hour. At the shop in the mall, I would get paid about 17.50R, or $2.11.

So yeah, that job interview was unexpected.

The other thing I’ve done today is nurse my wounds – it turns out that yesterday I spent just a little too much time in the sun. I look like a lobster. Jasmine described me as a candy cane, just because the tan (burn) line is so distinct. Wearing clothes is painful, just because the clothes rub against my poor skin. Jasmine and I have now decided (and pinky promised each other) that we will spend a maximum of an hour and a half out in the sun, and then go inside for an hour. At the end of the hour, we will see how red we are, and then decide whether we’re going back outside or not.

I forgot to take my camera to the mall, but here are some photos that Jasmine and I took on her computer.

Anyway, that’s all for today. I’m not sure whether there will be many photos for the next few weeks – internet is really limited, and the only reason it’s not a problem today is that it’s the very end of the month, so we’re trying to use it all up!

Lots of love, hope your lives are being fun, and I’ll update again tomorrow!
xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

